End Of Winter Fun ~ Cabled Skating Sweater & Matching Scarf

Sweater/Scarf set in Red Variegated Worsted Acrylic

With winter nearing its inevitable conclusion (YAY), Thematic Stitchings has only a few more cold-weather projects to share. Very soon, we’ll be moving on to lighter colours, fabrics and, well, attitudes!

For now, though, with March still undecided about its Lion/Lamb status, I’d like to present a sweater/scarf set that is as much fun to wear as it was to create. For this project, I used a variegated worsted acrylic in a dominant warm red with strains of green, ivory and blue running throughout.

Edging is Double-Ribbed for 2 inches

First the sweater — I began by casting on a multiple of 4 stitches. The base is a simple double rib: K2, P2 to end. Continue till ribbed base reaches desired length, I like a base that is 2″ or more for ladies’ wear.

My Tip #1: Always knit your main garment first when making a matching set. Use your leftover yarn for the scarf. A scarf can be any reasonable length, but the garment must fit.

The back and front of the sweater are both worked in a stocking stich (K one row, P the next), but the centre of both front and back features an elaborate braided cable. You can find various braided cables in any knitting magazine or digest.

When the sweater body reached 2″ more, I added an upward-fan cable on either side of the braided cable. This feature made the overall garment more interesting.

Sleeves pick up matching ribbing and cable

The sleeves are also cast on in a multiple of 4 st and worked in double ribbing for 2″, then the same stocking stitch with the braided cable up the centre. To create the raglan effect, I increase on each side of the sleeve till I reach the armhole.

Armhole is shaped using Raglan method

I shape the armhole by casting off approx 8 stiches on both sides. Then, on the right side only: K2, K2Tog through back of sts, continue pattern till 4 sts remain, K2Tog Knitwise, K2. This easy shaping creates a professional looking ‘joint’ for any garment. I do the same thing when shaping the raglan into the body of the garment.

My Tip #2: Be creative when shaping your raglan sleeves. I’ve seen garments that feature a cabled ‘joint’, for example. I’m fond of the “K2, K2Tog” method, especially for casual sweaters.

On the wrong side, simply purl and continue the cable pattern. Do not reduce stitches on the wrong side.

Collar is double ribbed

For this sweater, I raised the neckline higher than I normally do, because I was going for warmth. I wanted a casual garment I could wear at the cottage during snowy winter weekends. The collar is built by picking up stitches after the entire garment has been sewn together. I opted for a simple double rib to match the base of the sweater, then I used a darning needle to create the “V” effect.

The finished sweater

Next, the scarf — this especially soft fabric was created using my favourite scarf stitch: a simple “staggered” double rib. Cast on a multiple of 4 stitches, plus 1. For each row, K2, P2, to final stitch, then K1. The effect is plush and warm, easy to wear on a daily basis.

Remaining yarn used on scarf


If you have questions about this or any other project, feel free to reach me directly through my contact page.

The First Excellence The First Excellence

For all of you out there who love to read, please follow my writer account on Twitter @Donna_Carrick .

However, if you’re more interested in following this crafty bird through the labyrinth of fabric and yarn that we call a life, you can always join me on my Just Knittin’ Twitter site under @DCarrickCrafts . Either way, I’d love to meet you on FaceBook, so be sure to look me up!

Best in knitting and living passionately,
Donna Carrick
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “End Of Winter Fun ~ Cabled Skating Sweater & Matching Scarf

  1. Gloria

    BEAUTIFUL set Donna I love it.

Leave a Reply

